Sanjeeda Khatun is the leader of Rabindra Sangeet Sammilan Parishad

Cultural personality Sanjeeda Khatun is the president of the National Rabindra Sangeet Sammilan Parishad. Atiur Rahman, the former governor of Bangladesh Bank, was re-elected as the executive president with him. However, there has been a change in the post of general secretary of the council, dancer Sharmila Bandyopadhyay has come to this responsibility. And Nasehun Amin became the treasurer.

Sunday was the concluding day of the three-day conference of the Rabindra Sangeet Sammilan Parishad at the National Theater of Shilpakala Academy in the capital. On this day, a representative conference was held with representatives from 50 branches across the country. From there, a new committee of 61 members of the council was elected.

Outgoing general secretary Bulbul Islam delivered the opening speech at the closing ceremony of the 40th conference under the chairmanship of Atiur Rahman, executive president of Rabindra Sangeet Sammilan Parishad. Speaking as the chief guest at the event, educationist and fiction writer Syed Manjurul Islam said, ‘The way Rabindranath Tagore protested against injustice, the way he practiced cultural values ​​and aesthetics in his life-long songs and poems, we should capture it in our lives.’

Syed Manjurul Islam also said, ‘To wake up the protesting characters of the society, we must first light the light of education and culture. The light of education will show the bright line to come out of the deep dark tunnel. The light of culture will awaken love and devotion to beauty in people.

Sarwar Ali, vice-president of outgoing committee of the council, said that anti-women and anti-religious campaigns in the society are affecting the psyche of some people. It is crossing the line of social degradation. The economic crisis is deepening in the global conflict. Rabindranath Tagore can be approached to overcome such a dangerous state of society and culture.

A condolence proposal was made in the conference for more than two hundred cultural workers who passed away during the Corona period. Their unique role in culture is remembered with reverence. At this time, Mofidul Haque, essayist and researcher, read the proposal. It is said that the organization will be united in the movement demanding that the land of the first student of Dhaka University and leader of Bengali independence movement Leela Nag, wife of national poet Kazi Nazrul Islam Pramila Nazrul and geographer Ramnath Biswas be freed from occupation and renovated and presented in a new form. Apart from this, in the next academic year, artists of the Parishad are called to be voluntarily involved in the ‘Art and Culture Practice’ project in the education of culture and physical education in the primary schools of the country.

Rabindrapadak was given on the last day of the conference. The medal was awarded posthumously to two late Rabindra musicians and organists Nilotpal Sadhya and Mita Haque. Nilotpal Sadhi’s wife Jharna Mallik and Mita Haque’s daughter Farhin Khan Jayita accepted the award on their behalf.

On Sunday afternoon, the names of the winners of the Rabindra Sangeet competition in the youth and general categories were announced. Anushka Chakraborty of Mymensingh got unique value in juvenile category and Poorvi de Simanti of Chandpur got unique value in general category. Syed Manjurul Islam and Atiur Rahman presented the ‘Zahidur Rahim Memorial Award’ to them. 17 people got first standard, 6 people got second standard and 5 people got general standard in juvenile category. 9 contestants got first standard, 9 second standard and 3 contestants got general standard in general category. Prizes were also given to them.

The awardees are Biprajit Sarkar of Rajshahi, Yojan Biswas of Faridpur, Godhuli Saha of Barguna, Paushi Poddar of Jessore, Anbesha Sarkar of Pabna, Trishna Dev Bhakta of Jessore, Kanta Sarkar of Faridpur, Satusha Ray of Pabna, Ankur Sarkar of Rajshahi, Adrita Rudra of Chittagong, Shahriya As Sadat of Jaipurhat, Pratichya Kumar De of Faridpur, Sudarshana Kundu of Dhaka, Kranti Das of Habiganj, Upma Saha of Khulna, Bratati Das of Faridpur, Mahjabeen Mobaswira of Sherpur.

Pushpita Som of Sherpur, Pratibha Raihan, Aranya Saha of Magura, Sweety Rani Das of Moulvibazar, Aishwarya Mandal of Dumuria, Sushmita Mandal of Sirajganj got second prize. Chittagong Rajnya Dash, Kushtia’s Nichol Meghlina, Gazipur’s Sudeep Brahm Roy, Aditi Mitra and Mymensingh’s Adishree Saha got general standard.

Ameyya Pratiti of Dhaka, Priyanka Das of Dinajpur, Mohammad Shahriar Islam of Dhaka, Eldrin Crowley of Chittagong, Ratna Rani Roy of Naogaon, Anik Roy of Rajshahi, Sananda Dhar of Joypurhat, Mitul Das of Magura and Anindita Mutsuddi of Chittagong got the first standard in general category.

Chayan Saha of Chandpur, Jayashree Chowdhury of Narayanganj, Nivedita Das of Chandpur, Shaon Kumar Roy of Chuadanga, Aritri Samddar of Dhaka, Simran Sarkar of Habiganj, Turya Ghosh of Narayanganj, Susmit Saif of Khulna and Dipanjali Nath of Moulvibazar got the second prize. Ramiz Raonak of Panchagarh and Pratya Baran Sarkar of Sirajganj have got general standard.

The 40th conference of the National Rabindra Sangeet Sammilan Parishad started last Friday. Rabindra Researcher and Professor Syed Akram Hossain inaugurated it. In 1979, on the death anniversary of artist Zahidur Rahim, the work of ‘Zahidur Rahim Smriti Parishad’ was started. The organization was later renamed Jatiya Rabindra Sangeet Sammilan Parishad with the aim of conducting activities on a larger scale across the country. The main goal of the organization became to remove all the obstacles and conduct the activities of the organization to make the smooth and natural development of the Bengali national culture rich and dynamic.